Granger Westberg Leadership in Faith Community Nursing Award

Established in 2011 (first award was given at the National Meeting June 2012), this award recognizes an outstanding Faith Community Nurse who exemplifies faith community nursing and has achieved success in implementing a practice that is faith centered, community driven and wholistic in its approach toward health promotion, disease prevention and spiritually integrated.

Submit a Nomination

*Nominations for 2019 are now open.

Awards Criteria

Click to View Awards Criteria
  • Demonstrates outstanding evidence-based practice in Faith Community Nursing.
  • Implements change and achieves significant improvement using creative approaches to advance the professional practice of Faith Community Nursing.
  • Advocates for the development and effective use of the nursing process of faith community nursing as delineated within ANA/HMA approved Scope and Standards.
  • Demonstrates professional competency and compassion when advocating for whole-person health care for individual and congregate members of a faith community.
  • Demonstrates leadership as an HMA Member in good standing.
  • Membership in the American Nurses Association, preferred, but not required.
  • Demonstrates outstanding professional standards through participative on-going education.

2018 Recipient

Marilyn D. Harris, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN – 2018 Granger Westberg Leadership in Faith Community Nursing Award.

Marilyn Harris has been a nursing leader in Pennsylvania for over 50 years.

Ms. Harris became the Administrative Director of the Community Interfaith Parish Nurse Program at Abington Memorial Hospital in 1995. She coordinated the education and support of nurses and health ministers in multiple faith communities. In 1992, Marilyn was awarded the Pennsylvania State Nurses’ Association Mary Ann Arty Legislative Award for her work with PSNA and legislators to pass a bill that approved death pronouncement by RNs in Pennsylvania.

Following retirement from Abington Hospital in 1999, she became the Faith Community Nurse at Hatboro Baptist Church in Hatboro, Pennsylvania. In that capacity she still makes hospital, home and nursing home visits to members and coordinates various health classes and volunteers within the church. She is currently leading a Living History project in which church members can tell their stories.  As part of a multi-church team, she is working to settle a refuge family.

Marilyn is on a regional FCN Advisory Planning Council that hosts quarterly programs and an annual one-day conference for the past 21 years.  Marilyn served on the HMA Board and the 2003 HMA Valley Forge Conference Planning Committee.  In 2008 and 2014 she chaired the ANA Home Health Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice Task Force.  In 2011, the National Ministries Board for the American Baptist Church, presented her with the Faithful, Effective Leadership in Christian Education Award.

Ms. Harris has published extensively about home health and health ministry. Marilyn has written a meditation book Journeys with God and published over 173 nursing articles in numerous journals, including six editions of the Handbook of Home Health Care Administration. She is the winner of two American Journal of Nursing, Excellence in Writing Awards.  Her article Power in the Blood: Local Lifesaving Partnerships Between Churches and the American Red Cross, was published in the April-June 2018 edition of the Journal of Christian Nursing.

In addition to the 2018 Granger Westberg Leadership in Faith Community Nursing Award, she most recently received the 2018 American Nurses Association Distinguished Membership Award.

Previous Recipients

  • 2017, Maureen Flak, BSN, RN, Greensboro, NC
  • 2016, Deborah Stankiewicz, MS, RN-BC, HTCP, Faith Community Nurse, Western Springs, IL
  • 2015, Lyn McIntryre, RN, Faith Community Nurse, 2015 National Conference, New Orleans, LA
  • 2014, Cynthia E. Carroll, RN, Faith Community Nurse, 2014 National Conference, Hyattsville, MD
  • 2012, Mary Ann Stone, RN, BAA, CLM, Faith Community Nurse, 2012 National Conference, Nashville, TN