HMA Zoominar: Racism and Health Matters: Do you See What I See?

Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was born on January 15, 1929. His legacy is embedded in the belief that we are all called to become part of the beloved community.
On March 25, 1966 in Chicago at a press conference before his speech at the second convention of the Medical Committee for Human Rights (MCHR), King said (in part):

“We are concerned about the constant use of federal funds to support this most notorious expression of segregation. Of all the forms of inequality, injustice in health is the most shocking and the most inhuman because it often results in physical death.”

The King Center says Dr. King’s Beloved Community represents a global vision in which all people can share in the wealth of the earth. In the Beloved Community poverty, hunger, homelessness, and health inequities will not be accepted. Personal unconscious bias and systemic racism and all forms of discrimination will be replaced by an all-inclusive spirit of sisterhood and brotherhood.

  • What does that mean for HMA? Who are we? What is our purpose? How can our lives and our work, individually and organizationally, help create the Beloved Community?
  • What necessitates discussing racism as a health issue?
  • What experience can you share when race mattered in health ministry?

Join us for a conversation on who we are as HMA and what we as a health care ministry can do to support the vision of Becoming the Beloved Community. 

Tuesday, January 26, 2021
5:00 p.m. Eastern, 4:00 p.m. Central, 3:00 p.m. Mountain/Arizona, 2:00 p.m. Pacific

via Zoom – Register here:
 https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJctcO-tqDosH9EI0KsNMX-scv5tLV5mNfK5

Please note that after registering, you will receive a confirmation email and in that email will be the link to the Zoominar. It’s very important that you save and use that link for entry into the Zoominar. 

Our facilitator will be Rev. Brenda Girton-Mitchell.  Among her extensive experience, Rev. Girton-Mitchell has served as the Director of the Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships (U.S. Dept. of Education,2010-2017) and the Associate General Secretary for Justice and Advocacy at the National Council of Christian Churches in the USA. 

We look forward to your participation in this important event!
Rev. Dr. William Coleman, HMA Vice-President
Ms. Marion Harris, MSN, PHN, RN Faith Community Nurse, HMA member
Rev. Karen MacDonald, HMA Past President
Rev. Kirsten Peachey, HMA member