HMA Zoominar: Racism and Health Matters: Do you See What I See? Zoominar #2

R.U.A.A
REMEMBERING, UNDERSTANDING, ANALYZING
AND
APPLYING
RACISM AND UNCONSCIOUS BIAS AS A
SERIOUS HEALTH ISSUE

Our first Zoominar on unconscious bias was our introduction, as we remembered our experiences of race. Our second Zoominar will be a deeper dive into understanding racism and analyzing its relationship to unconscious bias.

(If you were not able to attend, please Click here to read about Zoominar #1)

The King Center says Dr. King’s Beloved Community represents a global vision in which all people can share in the wealth of the earth. In the Beloved Community poverty, hunger, homelessness, and health inequities will not be accepted. Personal unconscious bias and systemic racism and all forms of discrimination will be replaced by an all-inclusive spirit of sisterhood and brotherhood.

  • What does that mean for HMA? Who are we? What is our purpose? How can our lives and our work, individually and organizationally, help create the Beloved Community?
  • What necessitates discussing racism as a health issue?
  • What experience can you share when race mattered in health ministry?

Join us for a conversation on who we are as HMA and what we as a health care ministry can do to support the vision of Becoming the Beloved Community.

Monday, April 26, 2021
6:30 p.m. Eastern, 5:30 p.m. Central, 4:30 p.m. 3:30 p.m. Pacific/Arizona, 2:30 p.m. Alaska, 12:30 p.m. Hawaii

via Zoom – Session: 90 minutes
Registration fee: $10 member, $20 non-members
Participants will receive a Certificate of Participation

To register for this event, please go to this link:

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAscO6vqD4oHtyd8bi3_ORJPfmMWF8LDd2c?fbclid=IwAR2JHMvgr4l0CYWkByG0x21ygZrjBH3KV4f2wAh3GcQ25gnYq5dTTTad2CA

Please note that after registering, you will receive a confirmation email and in that email will be the link to the Zoominar. It’s very important that you save and use that link for entry into the Zoominar.

 Rev. Brenda Girton-Mitchell will return as our facilitator.  Among her extensive experience, Rev. Girton-Mitchell has served as the Director of the Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships (U.S. Dept. of Education, 2010-2017) and the Associate General Secretary for Justice and Advocacy at the National Council of Christian Churches in the USA.

We look forward to your participation in this important event!

Rev. Dr. William Coleman, HMA Vice-President
Ms. Marion Harris, MSN, PHN, RN Faith Community Nurse, HMA member
Rev. Karen MacDonald, HMA Past President
Rev. Kirsten Peachey, HMA member